Australia won the ICC Women’s World Cup 2022 Final by 71 Runs

Australia won the ICC Women's World Cup 2022 Final by 71 Runs

Australia’s Alyssa Healy celebrates her century during the 2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Final.

Australia defeated England by 71 runs in today’s ICC Women’s World Cup 2022 Final at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch.

Summary of the Match

  • Final, ICC Women’s World Cup, Australia Women vs. England Women
  • Women in Australia 356/5 (50 ov)
  • Women’s England 285/10 (43.4 ov)
  • Australia won by a score of 71 runs.
  • Alyssa Healy was named Player of the Match.


After being put into bat by England, Australia hit a formidable total of 356-5, a World Cup final record score – Alyssa Healy of Australia hit a brilliant 170 (138) after being dropped on 42.

In response, England kept up with the required run rate in the run chase, but they lost crucial wickets and, except for Nat Sciver, who hit another century, England simply ran out of batters to support her.

Report on the Match

Australia won the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup for the seventh time with a 71-run victory over England in Christchurch.

Australia put on 356 for five thanks to Alyssa Healy’s 170-run innings, as England’s bowlers had no answer to a batting masterclass, with Anya Shrubsole’s three for 46 the only highlight for the defending champions.

Nat Sciver once again led England’s response, battling to her highest international score of 148 not out, but it was in vain after Shrubsole was dismissed to hand Australia the trophy for the second time.

Australia were measured in the powerplay after being put in to bat in the bright Hagley Oval sunshine, taking 37 off the seam attack of Katherine Brunt, Shrubsole, and Nat Sciver.

However, the introduction of spin in the form of Charlie Dean proved to be Healy and Rachael Haynes’ cue to begin regularly finding the boundary.

England’s fielding errors, which began in their first group game against the same opponent, resurfaced when Haynes was dropped on 47 and Healy was dropped on 41 in the same Kate Cross over.

As with the West Indies in the semi-final, Haynes’ half-century came first – off 69 balls – followed by Healy’s off 62 as they cruised to the highest opening partnership in a World Cup final.

Even as Dean was being targeted, spinner Sophie Ecclestone took her 21st and final wicket of the tournament to dismiss Haynes for 68, Tammy Beaumont holding on to a mistimed shot as Haynes finished the World Cup on 497 runs.

The partnership had ended on 160 runs, but Healy formed a new one with Beth Mooney, who was promoted from fifth to second.

But first, Healy became only the second woman to score a century in a World Cup final, going at a run a ball to become the only player to score two centuries in a World Cup knockout stage.

She then broke the record for the highest score in a Women’s World Cup final, moving to 111 with a four off Cross.

More records were broken when Australia reached 260 for one, the highest score in a World Cup final, with eight overs remaining.

Amy Jones sent the umpire upstairs twice to review stumpings before finally catching Healy, who finished on a stunning 170 from 138 balls, the highest individual score in a Men’s or Women’s World Cup final, with over 100 runs coming in boundaries.

A standing ovation greeted Healy’s departure, which left Australia on 316 for two, before Ashleigh Gardner was run out for one in Shrubsole’s over.

Meg Lanning, making her 100th ODI appearance, was out for 10 before Mooney was out off the very next ball after a brilliant 62 from 47 balls.

Tahlia McGrath, the new batter, negotiated the Shrubsole hat-trick ball as she and Ellyse Perry added 25 off the final 13 balls to help Australia reach 356 for five.

In response, England’s opening partnership faltered once more, as Danni Wyatt was bowled for four by Megan Schutt.

Darcie Brown, Australia’s young seamer, was the target of England’s aggression, with Beaumont leading the charge until she was caught LBW by Schutt for 27 from 26 balls.

Sciver was called upon to deliver against Australia again, after making 109 not out in the group game, and her presence at the crease gave England a glimmer of hope.

She had an LBW call overturned by Alana King’s bowling before partner and captain Heather Knight was called out the same way two balls later for 26.

Jones was caught for 20 to end a promising partnership as England fell to 129 for four before Sophia Dunkley returned to help England rebuild.

However, two balls after the fifty partnership was established, she was bowled by King, the leg-spinner extracting turn to bowl her round her legs for 23.

Brunt then went for one as Healy was stumped before Ecclestone left for three, out LBW to McGrath.

Jess Jonassen took another caught and bowled against England as Cross was dismissed for two, leaving Knight’s side needing an unlikely 144 with only two wickets remaining.

Sciver was joined by Dean just in time for her to complete another brilliant century, this time off 90 balls with 10 fours and one six.

Dean holed out to Jonassen at third man while attempting a reverse sweep, ending their 65-point partnership.

Shrubsole, the hero in 2017 when England defeated India in the final, was the final wicket to fall, Gardner taking the winning catch as England fell 71 runs short with Sciver stranded on 148 not out.

Match Statistics

Australia Women: 1-160 (Rachael Haynes – 29.1 ov), 2-316 (Alyssa Healy – 45.3 ov), 3-318 (Ashleigh Gardner – 45.6 ov), 4-331 (Meg Lanning – 47.2 ov), 5-331 (Meg Lanning – 47.2 ov) (Beth Mooney – 47.3 ov)

England Women: 1-12 (Danielle Wyatt – 2.1 over), 2-38 (Tammy Beaumont – 6.3 over), 3-86 (Heather Knight – 14.6 over), 4-129 (Amy Jones – 20.3 over), 5-179 (Sophia Dunkley – 27.6 over), 6-191 (Katherine Brunt – 29.4 over), 7-206 (Sophie Ecclestone – 32.4 over), 8-213 (Kate Cross (Anya Shrubsole – 43.4 ov)

XIs in action

Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy (wk), Meg Lanning (c), Ellyse Perry, Beth Mooney, Tahlia McGrath, Ashleigh Gardner, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Megan Schutt, Darcie Brown for Australia Women

Tammy Beaumont, Danni Wyatt, Heather Knight (c), Natalie Sciver, Amy Jones (wk), Sophia Dunkley, Katherine Brunt, Sophie Ecclestone, Kate Cross, Charlie Dean, and Anya Shrubsole for England Women

Match Specifics

  • 02:00 is the start time.
  • England wins the toss. The women won the toss and chose to field.
  • Christchurch’s Hagley Oval
  • Kim Cotton, Lauren Agenbag, Jacqueline Williams, Langton Rusere, and G Lakshmi are the officials.

If you want to bet on different sports such as ICC Women’s World Cup, OKBET is the best Choice. No OKBET Sports Betting Account Yet? Signup and get up to 50% cashback Bonus Many more bonuses await you. Own the win now!

Stay in the Loop with our Cricket world cup betting tips, news, odds, predictions, and more.

OKBET First Deposit Bonus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *